Connect with us


Athanaze 4 The Win


The Windward Islands Volcanoes are now champions of the 2018 Super50 Cup after a thrilling performance on Saturday, at the Stanford Cricket Ground in Antigua. Volcanoes won the match by 3 wickets (with 3 balls remaining) after chasing a total of 232/9 set by Barbados Pride who won the toss and chose to bat. Volcanoes opened the tournament with a 3 match losing streak raising doubts about how this tournament would end. However, Captain, Shane Shillingford was right when he stated that “the best is yet to come” after their third defeat as they went on to win their final 7 matches.

Alick Athanaze secured the win after thrashing home a 4 in the final over alongside fellow Dominican, and captain Shane Shillingford on Saturday. Much of the work was done by

“Roland Cato [whose] fifty helped Windward Islands chase down 233 to defeat Barbados by three wickets to clinch the Super50 Cup title. Cato came in at 72 for 3 and had a stand of 80 with Kavem Hodge (39) to set up a chase that would require a few contributions from the lower order.”

Shillingford ended the match with 7 runs (not out) and 2 wickets, while Athanaze managed 23 with 1 wicket. Batsman Tyrone Theophile cannot be forgotten after leading the score sheet with an impressive performance in their previous match against Guyana with a total of 107 putting the Volcanoes into the final.

This victory reminds us that no matter your current situation, if you continue to work hard, and believe in yourself, you can achieve anything. Congratulations to the whole team especially our boys.

Click the link below for more stats and check out the video for match highlights


While every effort has been made to provide accurate and complete information, D/A Sports Vault does not guarantee that there are no errors in the information displayed on this web site. D/A Sports Vault and its contributors are not liable for any errors, omissions or other inaccuracies in the information disclosed herein.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Championship