Connect with us


Desiderata Tremors – Champions Of The Digicel Premier League

Cricket Wicket

A combination of patience and perseverance put the Desiderata Tremors Sports Club in the top spot of the 2016 Digicel Augustus Gregoire Premier League. They came up against Dublanc United Sports Club in the finals which took place on Saturday, August 20th and Sunday, August 21th 2016 at the Windsor Park Stadium.

Dublanc United responded with 160 to Desiderata Tremors 178 in the 1st innings and were left to chase 115 runs after Tremors scored 96 in the 2nd innings. With Dublanc on 6 runs for 2 wickets it seemed the it was going to be a short day but the pair of Odiamar Honore and Liam Sebastian hung in there and got the score up to 53-2. At 81-5, it appeared to be a sure win for Dublanc United with team captain Shane Shillingford at the crease, having scored eight 6’s in the match so far but it was not to be. The last five wickets fell under an hour and by 4:59pm it was all over and time for Tremors to celebrate.

Captain of Desiderata Tremors, Tyrone Theophile said he feels great. “Its a great feeling. Dublanc is a tough opponent and to see that they didn’t get to 115 means that was very good bowling from my team. I just want to tell the guys to keep working hard so that we can come back next year and defend the championship. Dublanc used their spinners on the wicket so we went in to bowl with the same plan and it worked for us at the end of the day.” It certainly did.

The Dominica Cricket Association (DCA) extends congratulations to Desiderata Tremors on winning  the Digicel Augustus Gregoire Premier League and thanks to all teams for their participation. A presentation ceremony will be held at a later date.

First Innings Scores:

Tremors: 178 (Mervin Matthew 62, Tyrone Theophile 29, John Matthew 21, Rick James 16, Limrun Bernard 16, Shane Shillingford 6-56, Liam Sebastian 4-75)

Dublanc: 160 (Emmanuel Peter 47, Shane Shillingford 51, Kerny Capel 17, Tyrone Theophile 4-63, John Matthew 2-19, Vivian Titre 2-36)

Second Innings Scores:

Tremors: 96 (Mervin Matthew 41, Tyrone Theophile 36, Shane Shillingford 4-23, Liam Sebastian 4-37)

Dublanc: 108(Liam Sebastian 28, Shane Shillingdford 26, Vivian Titre 5-66, Tyrone Theophile 4-30)


While every effort has been made to provide accurate and complete information, D/A Sports Vault does not guarantee that there are no errors in the information displayed on this web site. D/A Sports Vault and its contributors are not liable for any errors, omissions or other inaccuracies in the information disclosed herein.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket