Caribbean Netball Association’s Jean Pierre U-16 Netball Tournament

Caribbean Netball Association’s Jean Pierre U-16 Netball Tournament

Following four (4) months of training, the Sports Division has selected the final team to represent Dominica at the Caribbean Netball Association’s Jean Pierre U-16 Netball Tournament which is scheduled to take place in Barbados from April 1st– 10th 2016.

” The Jean Pierre Youth Netball Championship (named after the renowned International Netballer, the late Jean Pierre of Trinidad & Tobago), is staged annually, by the Caribbean Netball Association (CNA). Each year over 300 young netballers (girls under 16 years old) and officials, from several Caribbean countries participate in these championships which started in 1998 and held annually in a different Caribbean territory during April. There are sixteen countries that are eligible to participate, namely Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Cayman Is. Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Maarten, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, and Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos Is. (Note that in this event, St. Kitts & Nevis compete separately). ” (CAN)

A squad of 30 players was initially called up for training which commenced on December 5, 2015. This is the 16th edition of the Games and Dominica’s 14th year of participation: last year, Dominica placed 2nd in the Tournament after placing 4th in 2014.

The players selected are:

– Rachel Seraphin (DGS)
– Celena Langlaise (PSS)
– Jeanne Seraphin (DGS)
– Rachel Marshall (DGS)
– Christelle Bannis (DGS)
– Kristel Ferrol (SJA)
– Kaylee Clarke (PSS)
– Naihima Hector (GSS)
– Shernyka Bruno (PSS)
– Kayla Telemaque (NECS)
– Jarnilia Phillip (NECS)
– Schellie Stephen (CHS)

Three (3) officials will accompany the team:
Miss Fiona Vidal – Manager
Miss Jennifer Nanton – Coach
Miss Curnia John – Assistant Coach.

The team leaves today March 30th and returns on April 10th. The other countries participating are Antigua, Bermuda, Barbados, Grenada, Jamaica, St. Lucia and Trinidad & Tobago. Dominica comes up against St. Lucia in its opening game on Saturday, 2nd. Barbados were champions of last year’s tournament.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.